Advisory Committee

Members of the Expert Committee

Our aim is to use Bochum’s great potential more effectively for the development of the city as a location for healthcare. This is what our committee of experts stands for, a group made up of one representative from each of the worlds of business, science and healthcare.  They support the Health Campus Agency Bochum with intensive and specific advice by creating links, building networks, and initiating projects, funding and finance.

Members of the Expert Committee:

Birgit Fischer

Birgit Fischer has been Chief Executive of the vfa (German Association of Research-based Pharmaceutical Companies) since 2011. She was the Chair of the Board at BARMER GEK (2010-2011) and Vice Chair of the Board at BARMER (2007 – 2009), Minister for Health, Social Welfare, Women and Family in North Rhine-Westphalia (1998 2005), parliamentary secretary for the SPD parliamentary group in the NRW state parliament (1991 – 1998) and after her studies in educational science she was active for 13 years in continuing and further education and was the equal opportunities commissioner before she became a Member of the  NRW State Parliament (1990 – 2007).

Jörg Holstein

Jörg Holstein is one of the founders of VISUS Health IT.

He has a Master of Science degree in computer science with a focus on business administration. Jörg Holstein has more than 20 years of experience in medical computer science, during which, among other things, he headed the department of computer science at the Mülheimer Radiology Institute and the department of medical computer science at the Institute for Microtherapy at the private University of Witten/Herdecke.

Jörg Holstein is also a member of the board of MedEcon Ruhr e.V., the network for the healthcare sector on the Ruhr. As well as this he represents VISUS in the Bochum Institute for Technology as a member of the advisory committee. 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Ostendorf

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Ostendorf studied electrical engineering at the University of Hanover and attained a PhD and professorship at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering. From 2000 to 2008 he was CEO and member of the board at the Laser Centre Hannover e.V. In this role, he was founding CEO of the competence network for optic technologies PhotonicNet AgmbH in Lower Saxony. From 2003 to 2008 he was co-founder and member of the board of the Centre for Biomedical Technologies and Innovations e.V., Hannover. Since 2008, he has been a professor at the chair for Applied Laser Technology at the Ruhr-University Bochum.

He is active on numerous committees, since 2013 as President of the Scientific Society for Lasertechnology (WLT e.V.) and as a member of the scientific board of the Science Association of Fine Mechanics, Optics and Medical Technology e.V. in the inter-trade organization SPECTARIS.